Today In Wrestling History- April 19th


1986 – The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) win the inaugural Jim Crockett Sr Memorial Tag Team Tournament, defeating Ronnie Garvin & Magnum TA in the final

1997 – Jersey All Pro Wrestling is founded as the Northern States Wrestling Alliance. The promotion changed to its current name 3 months later

1997 – The AJPW Champion’s Carnival saw a 3-way tie for 1st place between Toshiaki Kawada, Kenta Kobashi & Mitsuharu Misawa. In a
one-night round robin playoff, Kawada was declared the winner

1999 – The Monday Night War continued:WWF Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.1 to 4.1 in the ratings

2007 – Former WWE developmental territory Deep South Wrestling in Georgia suspended operations shortly after WWE pulled out of working with the group

2010 – The 2nd Monday Night Raw continued: WWE Raw defeated TNA Impact: 3.1 to 0.95 in the ratings


In 1992, The WWF held its 2nd-annual UK Rampage event at Sheffield Arena, in Sheffield, England:

– Tatanka defeated Skinner
– The Legion of Doom (Animal & Hawk) defeated Dino Bravo & Col. Mustafa
– Sid Justice (with Harvey Wippleman) defeated The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) via countout
– WWF Champion Randy Savage (with Miss Elizabeth) defeated Shawn Michaels (with Sensational Sherri) to retain the title
– The Mountie (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Virgil
– WWF Intercontinental Champion Bret Hart defeated Rick Martel to retain the title
– Jim Duggan defeated Repo Man via DQ
– The British Bulldog defeated WWF Tag Team Champion Irwin R. Schyster (with Jimmy Hart)

In 1998, WCW Spring Stampede was held at the Denver Coliseum, in Denver, Colorado. With an attendance of 7,428:

– Goldberg defeated Saturn (with Billy Kidman) to earn a US Title match the following night on Nitro against Raven
– Ultimo Dragon defeated Chavo Guerrero Jr. (with Eddie Guerrero)
– Booker T defeated Chris Benoit to retain the WCW Television Title
– Curt Hennig (with Rick Rude) defeated The British Bulldog (with Jim Neidhart)
– Chris Jericho defeated Prince Iaukea to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Rick Steiner & Lex Luger defeated Buff Bagwell & Scott Steiner
– Psychosis defeated La Parka
– Hollywood Hogan & Kevin Nash defeated Roddy Piper & The Giant in a Baseball Bat on a Pole Match
– Raven defeated Diamond Dallas Page in a Raven’s Rules Match to win the WCW United States Title
– Randy Savage (with Miss Elizabeth) defeated Sting in a No-DQ Match to win the WCW World Title

In 2009, TNA Lockdown was held at the Liacouras Center, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As with all Lockdown events of this time, all matches were held within a cage. With an attendance of 4,500:

Eric Young defeated Danny Bonaduce
– Suicide defeated Jay Lethal, Consequences Creed, Sheik Abdul Bashir & Kiyoshi in an Xscape Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– ODB (with Cody Deaner) defeated Daffney, Madison Rayne & Sojourner Bolt to become Queen of the Cage
– The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley) defeated The LAX (Homicide & Hernandez) & No Limit (Naito & Yujiro) to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Matt Morgan defeated Abyss in a Doomsday Chamber of Blood Match
– Angelina Love (with Velvet Sky) defeated Awesome Kong (with Raisha Saeed), & Taylor Wilde in a 3-Way Match to win the TNA Knockout’s Title
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeated Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) in a Street Fight to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles &  win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Team Jarrett (Jeff Jarrett, Samoa Joe, AJ Styles & Christopher Daniels) defeated Team Angle (Kurt Angle, Scott Steiner, Booker T & Kevin Nash) (with Sharmell) in a Lethal Lockdown Match
– Mick Foley defeated Sting to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1952 – Henry Harrell defeated Tex Riley in a tournament final to win the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Jackson, Mississippi

1954 – The Great Bolo & Tom Rice defeated Wilbur Snyder & Sandor Szabo to win the NWA International Television Tag Team Title in Hollywood, California

1956 – Bobo Brazil defeated Gene Stanlee to win the Ohio Heavyweight Title in Springfield, Ohio

1957 – Don Leo Jonathan defeated Pepper Gomez to win the vacant Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1960 – Mike DiBiase defeated Eddie Graham to win the NWA Florida Brass Knuckles Title in Tampa, Florida

1980 – Ric Flair defeats Jimmy Snuka to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title

1982 – The Dream Machine defeated Dutch Mantel to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1987 – Big Bubba Rogers defeated One Man Gang to win the UWF Heavyweight Title

1993 – Sherri Martel defeated Miss Texas (Jacqueline Moore) to win the USWA Women’s Title in Memphis, Tennessee, but the decision was later reversed

1993 – Brian Lee defeated Bobby Eaton to win the SMW Television Title in Barbourville, Kentucky

1993 – Steve Gatorwolf defeated Navajo Kid to win the American Wrestling Federation Heavyweight Title in Kayenta, Arizona

1997 – The Truth Commission (Recon & The Interrogator) defeated The Shooting Stars (Jerry Faith & Troy Haste) to win the USWA Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1999 – on Nitro, Psychosis defeated Rey Misterio Jr to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2002 – Colt Cabana defeated CM Punk, & Eddie Guerrero in a 3-way match to win the IWA Mid-South Heavyweight Title in Dayton, Ohio

2002 – on Smackdown, the WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bubba Ray Dudley to Goldust, to Raven, & back to Bubba Ray

2004 – on Raw, Chris Benoit & Edge defeated Evolution (Ric Flair & Batista) to win the World Tag Team Titles

2010 – on Impact, Rob Van Dam defeated AJ Styles to win the TNA World Title

2011 – on Smackdown, Kane & The Big Show defeated  The Corre (Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to NWA legend Ox Baker (80), British indy star Jonny Storm (37), former WSU Champion Nikki Roxx (35),
2-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion El Samurai (48), & former WWE Diva Maxine (28)