Today In Wrestling History – February 2nd


2010– During an edition of ECW on SyFy, Vince McMahon made the following announcement:

“I would like to proudly announce in three weeks’ time that ECW will be going off the air.”

The new show would be NXT, which would only last 1 year before being moved to


In 1985, The WWF held an event at the Boston Garden in Boston, Massachusetts:
– Moondog Spot defeated José Luis Rivera
– Brutus Beefcake defeated Rick McGraw
– WWF Tag Team Champion Mike Rotundo defeated The Iron Sheik
– Nikolai Volkoff defeated WWF Tag Team Champion Barry Windham
– Paul Orndorff defeated Ivan Putski
– Don Muraco defeated George Wells
– Bret Hart defeated Mr. X
– WWF Women’s Champion Wendi Richter defeated Judy Martin to retain the title
– André the Giant & the Junkyard Dog defeated Ken Patera & Big John Studd in a Texas Tornado match

In 1987, The World Class Wrestling Association held a “Wrestling Star Wars” event at the Tarrant County Convention Center in Fort Worth, Texas:
– Steve Simpson defeated Roberto Soto
– The Dingo Warrior defeated WCWA Texas Heavyweight Champion Bob Bradley to win the title. This was the future WWF World & Intercontinental Champion’s first career singles title win. The Warrior had held the WCWA World Tag Team Title with Lance Von Erich for two weeks in late 1986
– Matt Borne defeated Scott Casey
– Red River Jack defeated Killer Tim Brooks
– David Manning defeated Gary Hart
– WCWA World Heavyweight Champion Kevin Von Erich defeated WCWA World Tag Team Champion Al Madril to retain the title.
– Abdullah the Butcher defeated Tony Atlas by countout
– The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) and The Rock ‘n’ Roll RPM’s (Mike Davis & Tommy Lane) fought to a double-countout.
– Kerry Von Erich defeated WCWA World Tag Team Champion Brian Adias

In 2002, Jersey All-Pro Wrestling held its Russ Haas Memorial Show at Charity Hall in Bayonne, New Jersey, held in honor of Russ Haas, brother of Charlie Haas, who died of a heart attack in his sleep on December 15. Haas was just 27 years old:
– Ghost Shadow & Jay Lethal defeated Deranged & Rainchild in a Lucha Rules match.
– NWA Virginia Heavyweight Champion Jacey North defeated Chino Martinez to retain the title.
– Seijin Akki defeated Crazy Ivan.
– JT Jobber defeated Katarina Heiss.
– Slyk Wagner Brown (with April Hunter) defeated Matt Striker.
– The Big Unit (Dave Desire & Rick Silver) defeated Don Montoya and Mike Quackenbush.
– The Boogie Knights (Danny Drake & Mike Tobin) defeated Ric Blade and Elax.
– Kid Kruel (Mike Kruel) defeated Low Ki.
– Charlie Haas defeated Crowbar and Simon Diamond in a three-way dance.  The was going to be a singles match between Diamond & Crowbar, when Haas came out & was added to the match.
– JAPW Tag Team Champions Da Hit Squad (Mafia & Monsta Mack) defeated The Shane Twins (Mike & Todd) to retain the title.
– JAPW New Jersey State Champion Dixie defeated JAPW Heavyweight Champion Homicide & JAPW Light Heavyweight Champion The Insane Dragon in a three-way match to leave with all the titles

Title Changes

1939 – Lou Plummer defeated Sandor Szabo to win the San Francisco Pacific Coast Heavyweight Title in Salinas, California

1949 – Rube Wright defeated Albert Mills to win the Montana Heavyweight Title in Great Falls, Montana

1973 – Fred Curry & Tony Marino defeated Kurt Von Hess & Karl Von Shotz to win the Detroit NWA World Tag Team Title in Detroit, Michigan

1977 – Tiger Jeet Singh & Umanosuke Ueda defeated Strong Kobayashi & Seiji Sakaguchi to win the New Japan NWA North American Tag Team Title in Osaka, Japan

1978 – Dory Funk Jr. & Larry Lane defeated Brute Bernard and Frank Morrell to win the NWA Western States Tag Team Title in Amarillo, Texas

1981 – The Bounty Hunters (David & Jerry Novak) defeat Bill Dundee & Tommy Rich to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Title  in a no-disqualification Title vs. Hair match. The hair at stake was that of the Bounty Hunters’ manager, Jimmy Kent. in Memphis, Tennessee

1986 – Dirty Rhodes (Roger Smith) defeats Buddy Landel to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1991 – Carlos Colon defeats Greg Valentine in a rematch from December 15, to win the vacant WWC Universal Heavyweight Title in Bayamon, Puerto Rico

1996 – Konnan defeats The Killer to become the first AAA Americas Heavyweight Champion in Querétaro, Mexico

1997 – Stevie Richards defeats Axl Rotten to win the Mid-Eastern Wrestling Federation Heavyweight Title in Gaithersburg, Maryland

2002 – Lobo defeats Fujita to win the IWA World Junior Heavyweight Title in Bayamon, Puerto Rico

2005 – Bull Buchanan & Rico defeated Mitsuya Nagai & Masayuki Naruse to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles on the first event of the “Excite Series” in Tokyo, Japan

2008 – Thunder & Lightning defeated Juventud Rebelde (Chris Joel & Noriega) to win the WWC World Tag Team Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico

2008 – Chris Black & Calvin Rose defeats Jesse & Dinky Dalton for the NWA Mississippi Tag Team Title in Magee, Mississippi


Born on this day: Former WWE developmental star Teddy Hart (34), indies wrestling K.J. Hellfire (29), JPW star Conrad Kennedy III (37), former Dragon Gate Open The Freedom Gate Champion Dragon Kid (38), & former 3-time AJPW Unified Triple Crown Heavyweight Champion Genichiro Tenryu (64)