Today In Wrestling History – February 5th


1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 2.9 to 2.7 in the ratings

2001 – The Monday Night War entered its next-to-last month: WWF Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 5.0 to 2.3 in the ratings


In 1971, Georgia Championship Wrestling held a 14-man tournament for the vacant NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia:
First round:
– Bob Griffin defeated Skandor Akbar
– Kubla Kahn defeated Tom DeLynch
– Dick Steinborn defeated Bobo Brazil
– Assassin #2 defeated Gene DuBois
– Jim Wilson defeated Mr. Ito
– Luke Graham defeated Silento Rodriguez
Second round:
– Nick Bockwinkel defeated Bob Griffin
– Dick Steinborn defeated Kubla Khan
– Assassin #2 defeated Jim Wilson
– El Mongol defeated Luke Graham
– Nick Bockwinkel defeated Dick Steinborn
– El Mongol defeated Assassin #2
– El Mongol defeated Nick Bockwinkel to win the vacant NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title

1988 – The WWF held the first of five editions of The Main Event, which aired live on NBC from Market Square Arena in Indianapolis, Indiana, earning a 15.2 rating. It was the 1st time professional wrestling aired on prime-time network television since 1955. The show featured the highly-anticipated WWF Title match between champion Hulk Hogan & Andre the Giant:
Dark matches:
– Demolition (Ax & Smash) defeated Billy Jack Haynes & Ken Patera.
– Jake Roberts defeated King Harley Race.
– Ron Bass defeated Koko B. Ware.
– The British Bulldogs (Davey Boy Smith & The Dynamite Kid) defeated The Islanders (Haku & Tama).
– Jim Duggan defeated One Man Gang by disqualification.
– Don Muraco defeated Butch Reed.
– Ultimate Warrior defeated Sika.
Televised matches:
– Randy Savage (with Miss Elizabeth) defeated WWF Intercontinental Champion The Honky Tonk Man (with Jimmy Hart & Peggy Sue) by countout
– Andre the Giant (with Ted DiBiase & Virgil) pinned WWF Champion Hulk Hogan to win the title, ending Hogan’s four-year long reign atop the WWF mountain. Hogan’s shoulder clearly came up before the three-count, but the referee counted it anyway. DiBiase, according to the storyline, had paid for the referee to get cosmetic surgery to make him look like referee Dave Hebner, & paid off the new referee to take Dave’s place. This was, of course, the WWF officiating debut of Dave Hebner’s twin brother Earl, who previously had been working for the NWA. Andre said that he was surrendering the title to Ted DiBiase, then gave him the belt. Dave Hebner ran to the ring & attacked the imposter referee as DiBiase put the belt on left the ring with Virgil. Hogan then threw Earl over the top rope onto DiBiase & Virgil. DiBiase actually was announced as champion at events on February 6 in Boston & Philadelphia & February 8 in Los Angeles, before an announcement by WWF President Jack Tunney aired on the February 13 edition of WWF Superstars, stating the title was vacant & a tournament would be held at WrestleMania IV to fill the vacancy. This marked the first (official) time that the WWF World Title was vacated in its then 25-year history. The title had actually been vacant on three separate occasions in 1979 & 1982, which WWE doesn’t officially recognize.
– WWF Tag Team Champions Strike Force (Rick Martel & Tito Santana) defeated The Hart Foundation (Bret Hart & Jim Neidhart) to retain the title

2003 – TNA held its 30th weekly pay-per-view event live from the TNA Asylum in Nashville, Tennessee. The show featured the TNA debut of one-legged wrestling sensation Zach “Tenacious Z” Gowen:
Dark matches:
– Jimmy Rave defeated Matt Sydal
– Tony Mamaluke & David Young defeated Lex Lovett & Rod Steel
– America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm) defeated Rocky Reynolds & Jason Rumble
– Kid Kash defeated Shark Boy
Televised matches:
– Jorge Estrada defeated Glenn Gilberti
– TNA X Division Champion Sonny Siaki defeated Amazing Red to retain the title
– Tenacious Z defeated B.G. James
– Ron Killings defeated David Flair, Jerry Lynn, and Mike Sanders in a four-corners elimination match. Lynn pinned Sanders, Lynn pinned Flair and Killings pinned Lynn
– Trinity pinned Desire
– NWA World Tag Team Champions Triple X (Low Ki & Elix Skipper) fought The New Church (Brian Lee & Slash) to a no-contest due to a double pin

Title Changes

1913 – Mike Yokel defeated Henry Gehring to win the World Middleweight Title in Salt Lake City, Utah

1950 – Sandor Szabo defeats Hans Schnabel to win the NWA Hawaii Heavyweight Title in Honolulu, Hawaii

1959 – George & Sandy Scott defeat Maurice & Paul Vachonto win the vacant Stampede International Tag Team Title in Regina, Saskatchewan.

1963 – Rip Hawk & Rock Hunter defeat Bull Curry & Lucas Pertano to win the Texas NWA World Tag Team Title in Houston, Texas

1965 – The Mysterios Medics defeated Tony Marino & Joe Scarpa (Chief Jay Strongbow) to win the Georgia NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Atlanta, Georgia

1972 – Ernie Ladd defeated Bulldog Brower to become the 1st Buffalo/Ohio NWA North American Heavyweight Championin Akron, Ohio. The title would later be known as the National Wrestling Federation North American Heavyweight Title

1975 – Giant Baba & Jumbo Tsuruta defeated Dory Funk, Jr. & Terry Funk for the NWA International Tag Team Title in San Antonio, Texas

1978 – Ron Bass & Dr. Hiro Ota defeated Chavo & Hector Guerrero to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title

1980 – Lucy Kayama & Nancy Kumi defeated The Black Pair (Yumi Ikeshita & Mami Kumano) to win the WWWA World Tag Team Title in Osaka, Japan

1993 – Stevie Ray defeated Rod Price to win the Global Wrestling Federation North American Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas

1999 – Khris Germany defeated Jimmy James to win the vacant NWA Texas Heavyweight Title in North Richland Hills, Texas

2000 – Big Dick Dudley is awarded the NWA Jersey Heavyweight Title, becoming the 1st champion

2005 – Abyss defeated Jimmy Jacobs to win the NWA Iowa Heavyweight Title in Muscatine, Iowa

2005 – Erik Watts defeated Diamond Dallas Page to win the vacant AWA Superstars International Heavyweight Title in Tucson, Arizona



Japanese star Takashi Ishikawa (61), former TNA Knockout’s Champion Madison Rayne (28), & former WWWF World tag team champion Luke Graham (74)

In Memoriam
On this day in 1984, Rodolfo Guzman Huerta, far better known as El Santo (the saint) or El Santo Enmascarado de Plata (the silver-masked saint), dies of a heart attack at age 66. Santo is a legend in Mexico, not only as a wrestler, but as a television & film star as well. Santo wrestled nearly 50 years, & won the World Middleweight & Mexican National Welterweight, Middleweight, Tag Team and Light Heavyweight titles. Santo is typical listed among wrestlers who were never publicly unmasked, but he actually quickly revealed his face about a week before his death on a Mexican morning talk show. He was buried in his trademark silver mask