Today In Wrestling History – January 23rd


2003 – The WWE Tough Enough III finals airs on MTV from The World in New York City, New York, with John Hennigan (John Morrison) & Matt Cappotelli announced as the winners. The other finalists were Eric Markovcy & Jonah Adelman

2010 – Jake Roberts announced on his Myspace account that he would be retiring from wrestling at the end of 2010


In 1978, The WWWF held an event at Madison Square Garden in New York City, New York:
– Dusty Rhodes defeated the Golden Terror
– Carlos Colon defeated Jack Evans
– Special Delivery Jones vs. Butcher Vachon ended in a 20-minute time-limit draw
– Steve Keirn defeated Larry Sharpe
– Spiros Arion defeated Dominic DeNucci via countout
– Ken Patera defeated Chief Jay Strongbow via countout
– Bob Backlund, Tony Garea, Peter Maivia & Larry Zbyszko defeated Mr. Fuji, Baron Mikel Scicluna, Stan Stasiak and Prof. Tanaka in an elimination match
– Tatsumi Fujinami defeated WWWF Junior Heavyweight Champion Jose Estrada to win the title
– WWWF World Heavyweight Champion Superstar Billy Graham defeated Mil Mascaras

In 1996, WCW Clash of the Champions XXXII was held at Caesar’s Palace, in Las Vegas, Nevada:

– The Public Enemy fought The Nasty Boys to a double DQ
– Dean Malenko defeated Alex Wright
– The Taskmaster (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Disco Inferno
– Brian Pillman defeated Eddy Guerrero
– Sting & Lex Luger defeated The Blue Bloods (Robert Eaton & Steven Regal) to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Konnan defeated Psychosis
– Ric Flair & The Giant (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Hulk Hogan & Randy Savage (with Miss Elizabeth & Kevin Greene)

In 2000, WWF Royal Rumble was held at Madison Square Garden, in New York City. Interestingly, this event aired on terrestrial (free) TV in the UK as Channel 4 had acquired the programming rights from Sky earlier in the year

Sunday Night Heat:
– Christian defeated Steve Blackman
– The Headbangers & The Big Bossman defeated The Godfather, Prince Albert, & D’Lo Brown
– Edge defeated Al Snow by DQ
– Tazz defeated Kurt Angle (Angle’s 1st televised loss)
– The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) defeated The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) in an Elimination Tables Match
– Mae Young (with Mark Henry) defeated The Kat, Ivory, Luna Vachon, Terri, Barbara Bush, Jacqueline in a Miss Rumble 2000 Bikini Contest
– Chris Jericho defeated Chyna & Hardcore Holly to become the undisputed WWF Intercontinental Champion (Jericho & Chyna were co-champions going into the event)
– The New Age Outlaws (Road Dogg & Billy Gunn) defeated The Acolytes (Faarooq & Bradshaw) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Triple H (with Stephanie McMahon-Helmsley) defeated Cactus Jack in a Street Fight to retain the WWF Title
– The Rock wins the Royal Rumble, last eliminating The Big Show

Title Changes

1958 – Buddy Rogers defeated Dory Funk, Sr. for the Amarillo NWA North American Heavyweight Title in Amarillo, Texas

1961 – Maurice & Paul Vachon defeated Jack Curtis & Ray Villmer, to win the Mid-Atlantic NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Charlotte, North Carolina

1970 – Umanosuke Ueda defeated Danny Hodge to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1974 – A double World Heavyweighttitle match between NWA Champion Jack Brisco & PWF (AJPW) Champion Giant Baba ends in a draw in Nagasaki, Japan

1978 – Tatsumi Fujinami defeated Carlos Jose Estrada to win the WWF Junior Heavyweight Title

1983 – Kerry Von Erich defeated Harley Race to win  NWA Missouri Heavyweight Title in St. Louis, Missouri

1984 – Hulk Hogan defeated The Iron Sheik to win his first WWF Title. The reign would last over 4 years

1987 – Terry Taylor & Jim Duggan vacate the UWF Tag Team Titles after Duggan loses a Loser-Leaves-UWF Match to One Man Gang

1993 – The Carolina Heartbreaker defeated The Lightning Kid (Sean Waltman) to win the Southeastern Wrestling Alliance Light Heavyweight Title in Sylva, North Carolina

1993 – Colonel DeBeers defeated Bart Sawyer to win the Championship Wrestling USA Television Title in Portland, Oregon

1995 – on Raw, The Smoking Gunns defeated The 123 Kid & Bob Holly to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1998 – Mr. Niebla & Shocker defeated Emilio Charles Jr & Dr Wagner Jr to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles

2001 – on Thunder, Meng awards the WCW Hardcore Title to The Barbarian

2004 – La Park & Shocker defeated Los Guerreros Del Infierno (Rey Bucanero & Ultimo Guerrero) to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles

2005 – Scorpio & Doug Williams defeated Mitsuharu Misawa & Yoshinari Ogawa to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2011 – Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Taguchi) defeated Golden Lovers (Kenny Omega & Kota Ibushi) to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time ROH World Champion Nigel McGuinness (38), former TNA developmental talent Alex Silva (24) and former WWF & NWA Women’s Champion Leilani Kai (54)

Also, today would have been the birthday of All Japan founder Shohei ‘Giant’ Baba (76)