Today In Wrestling History- July 10th


2000 – The Monday Night War Continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.0 to 2.6 in the ratings

2007 – The word ‘Smackdown’ was added to Webster’s Dictionary


In 1988, NWA’s The Great American Bash, held at the Baltimore Arena, in Baltimore, Maryland. With an attendance of 13,000. It marked the return to the original format of the Bash after 2 years of tour-based events. It was also the 1st Bash to air on PPV:

Dark Match:
– Rick Steiner & Dick Murdoch defeated Kendall Windham & Tim Horner (it aired on NWA Main Event July 27, 1988)
– Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard (with James J. Dillon) fought Sting & Nikita Koloff to a time-limit draw to retain the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– The Midnight Express (Stan Lane & Bobby Eaton) (with Jim Cornette) defeated The Fantastics (Tommy Rogers & Bobby Fulton) to win the NWA United States Tag Team Titles
– The Road Warriors (Animal & Hawk), Ronnie Garvin, Steve Williams, & Jimmy Garvin (with Precious) defeated Mike Rotunda, Kevin Sullivan, The Russian Assassin, Ivan Koloff, & Al Perez (with Gary Hart) in a Tower of Doom Match
– Barry Windham (with James J. Dillon) defeated Dusty Rhodes to retain the NWA United States Title
– Ric Flair (with James J. Dillon) defeated Lex Luger to retain the NWA World Title

In 1998, WCW held “The LA Melee” at the Great Western Forum, in Inglewood, CA, drawing a sellout 15,678 fans for an event that also sold via the Internet as an audio PPV where fans could listen to live, streaming commentary:

–  WCW TV Champion Booker T defeated Fit Finlay
– Eddie Guerrero defeated Chavo Guerrero Jr.
– Juventud Guerrera, Psychosis, & Ciclope defeated Damien, Villano IV, & Villano V
– The Ultimo Dragon defeated Dean Malenko via count-out
– Chris Jericho defeated Rey Mysterio Jr. via DQ to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Konnan defeated Vincent
– Kevin Nash & Lex Luger defeated Bret Hart & the Giant via DQ
– Bill Goldberg defeated Curt Hennig to retain the WCW World Heavyweight Title
– Sting defeated Hulk Hogan in a Steel Cage Match

In 2011, TNA Destination X was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 1,100. In a hark back to the early days of TNA, the show solely featured the X-Division:

– Kazarian defeated Samoa Joe
– Douglas Williams (with Rob Terry & Magnus) defeated Mark Haskins in an Open Challenge Match
– Shark Boy & Eric Young defeated Generation Me (Max & Jeremy Buck)
– Alex Shelley defeated Amazing Red, Robbie E. (with Cookie), & Shannon Moore in an Ultimate X Match to become the #1 contender for the TNA X-Division Title
– Rob Van Dam defeated Jerry Lynn
– Austin Aries defeated Jack Evans, Zema Ion, & Low Ki in a Four Way Match to win a TNA contract
– Brian Kendrick defeated Abyss to win the TNA X-Division Title
– AJ Styles defeated Christopher Daniels

In 2010, Acid-Fest: A Tribute To Trent Acid was held live at Viking Hall (formerly ECW Arena), in South Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The event was co-promoted by Combat Zone Wrestling (CZW) & Jersey All Pro Wrestling (JAPW). The show was held in honor of Trent Acid, who died of an accidental drug overdose at his home in Philadelphia less than a month before:

– Helter Skelter (with Missy Hyatt) won the Trent Acid Memorial Battle Royal, Last eliminating Big Vito. (there were at least 27 participants. A full list was never announced)
– The Softcore Connection ( Nick Berk & Z-Barr) defeated Robby Mireno & Don Montoya (with Reckless Youth)
– Acid’s Angels (Amy Lee, Missy Sampson, & Annie Social) (with Dr. Don Bootz & Lexx) defeated Alere Little Feather, Roxxie Cotton, & Detox (with Doc Daniels)
– The S.A.T. (Jose & Joel Maximo) defeated The Carnage Crew (HC Loc & Tony DeVito), Da Hit Squad (Monsta Mack & Mafia), & The H8 Club (Nick Cage & Nate Hatred) (with Dewey Donovan & Justice Pain) in a 4-way Tag Team Scramble Elimination Match
– Homicide & B-Boy defeated Ruckus & Sonjay Dutt
– Johnny Kashmere (with Matt Walsh & Donnie B.) defeated Devon Moore (with Annie Social)

Title Changes

1967 – The Sicilians (Lou Albano & Tony Altimore) defeated Arnold Skaaland & Chuck Richards (subbing for Spiros Arion) to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles in Atlantic City, New Jersey

1985 – Dutch Mantel defeated The Snowman by countout to win the MSW Television Title

2001 – on Smackdown, Jeff Hardy defeated Mike Awesome to win the WWF Hardcore Title

2004 – Frankie Kazarian defeated Adam Pearce to win the Pro Wrestling Guerrilla Title in Los Angeles, California

2004 – Yoshinobu Kanemaru defeated Jushin Liger to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title

2011 – Go Shiozaki defeated Takashi Sugiura to win the GHC Heavyweight Title

2012 – The All Night Express (Rhett Titus & Kenny King) were stripped of the ROH Tag Team Titles after King jumps to TNA


Happy birthday to one-time WWF Light Heavyweight Champion Duane ‘Gillberg’ Gill (55), & former USWA Heavyweight Champion Billy Jack Haynes (61)