Today In Wrestling History- March 18th



1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 3.6 to 2.9 in the ratings

2006 – WWE Saturday Night’s Main Event returns to NBC

2007 – La Parka wins the AAA Rey de Reyes Tournament, defeating Octagon, Abismo Negro, Rhino, Fuerza Guerrera & Latin Lover

2011 – Extreme Tiger wins the AAA Rey de Reyes Tournament, defeating Carlito Caribbean Cool, LA Park & El Mesias

2012 – El Hijo del Perro Aguayo wins the AAA Rey de Reyes Tournament, defeating Hector Garza, Jack Evans & LA Park in the final


In 1995 – ECW held “Extreme Warfare” at the ECW Arena in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:

– Mikey Whipwreck defeated Jason Knight
– Ron Simmons defeated Hack Myers
– Tommy Dreamer defeated Tony Stetson
– Tommy Dreamer defeated Johnny Hot Body
– Tommy Dreamer defeated Stevie Richards
– Raven defeated Tommy Dreamer
– 2 Cold Scorpio defeated ECW World Television Champion & Tag Team Champion Dean Malenko to win the Television title
– Axl Rotten defeated Ian Rotten in a Strap match
– The Public Enemy (Johnny Grunge & Rocco Rock) defeated The Pitbulls (#1 & #2)
– Sabu defeated Mikey Whipwreck
– Terry Funk & The Sandman defeated Cactus Jack & ECW World Heavyweight Champion Shane Douglas

In 2001, WCW Greed, held at the Jacksonville Memorial Coliseum, in Jacksonville, Florida, was the final PPV event held by the company before it was bought by Vince McMahon:

– Jason Jett defeated Kwee Wee
– Elix Skipper & Kid Romeo defeated The Filthy Animals (Rey Misterio Jr & Billy Kidman) to become the 1st WCW Cruiserweight Tag Team Champions
– Shawn Stasiak (with Stacy Keibler) defeated Bam Bam Bigelow
– Team Canada (Lance Storm & Mike Awesome) defeated Hugh Morrus & Konnan
– Shane Helms defeated Chavo Guerrero Jr to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– The Natural Born Thrillers (Sean O’Haire & Chuck Palumbo) defeated Totally Buff (Lex Luger & Buff Bagwell) to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Ernest Miller (with Ms. Jones) defeated Kanyon
– Booker T defeated Rick Steiner to win the WCW United States Title
– Dusty & Dustin Rhodes defeated Ric Flair & Jeff Jarrett
– Scott Steiner (with Midajah) defeated Diamond Dallas Page in a Falls Count Anywhere Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 2005, CMLL Homenaje a Dos Leyendas was held in Mexico City. This year’s event did not honour El Santo, following a falling out between CMLL & Santo’s son. Instead, it honoured Salvador Lutteroth (as usual) & Perro Aguayo, who came out of retirement for the main event:

– Averno, Mephisto & Rey Bucanero defeated Atlantis, Blue Panther & Negro Casas
– Hector Garza, Tarzan Boy & Ultimo Guerrero defeated Dr Wagner Jr, Mistico & Shocker
– Perro Aguayo & Perro Aguayo Jr defeated Los Hermanos Dinamita (Cien Caras & Mascara Ano 2000) in a Hair vs Hair Match

In 2012, TNA Victory Road was held in Orlando, Florida:

– James Storm defeated Bully Ray to become the #1 contender for the TNA World Title
– Austin Aries defeated Zema Ion to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Samoa Joe & Magnus defeated Crimson & Matt Morgan to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Devon defeated Robbie E (with Robbie T) to win the TNA Television Title
– Gail Kim defeated Madison Rayne to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– AJ Styles & Mr. Anderson defeated Bad Influence (Kazarian & Christopher Daniels)
– Kurt Angle defeated Jeff Hardy
– Bobby Roode defeated Sting in a No Holds Barred Match

In 2013, TNA Impact Wrestling taped their “One Night Only: World Cup of Wrestling PPV” at the Impact Zone in Orlando, Florida (aired on December 6th, 2013):

– Magnus (Team UK) defeated Mr. Anderson (Team Aces & Eights)
– Kenny King (Team USA) defeated Sonjay Dutt (Team International)
– Lei’D Tapa (Team International) defeated Hannah Blossom (Team UK)
– D.O.C. & Knux (Team Aces & Eights) defeated Funaki & Petey Williams (Team International)
– Wes Brisco (Team Aces & Eights) defeated Rockstar Spud (Team UK)
–Bad Influence (Daniels & Kazarian) (Team USA) defeated British Invasion (Douglas Williams & Rob Terry) (Team UK)
– Ivelisse (Team Aces & Eights) defeated Mickie James (Team USA)
– James Storm (Team USA) defeated Judas Mesias (Team International)
– Team USA (James Storm, Christopher Daniels, Mickie James, Kazarian, & Kenny King) defeated Team Aces & Eights (DOC, Knux, Ivelisse, Wes Brisco, & Mr. Anderson) in a 5 vs. 5 Elimination Tag Team Match

Also in 2013, TNA Impact Wrestling taped their “One Night Only: Tag Team Tournament PPV” at the Impact Zone in Orlando, Florida (aired on January 3rd, 2014):

– Generation Me (Max & Jeremy Buck) defeated Petey Williams & Sonjay Dutt
– Aces & Eights (Garrett Bischoff & Wes Brisco) defeated The Hot Shots (Chase Stevens & Cassidy Riley)
– Bobby Roode & Austin Aries defeated The British Invasion (Douglas Williams & Rob Terry)
– Chavo Guerrero Jr. & Hernandez defeated Bad Influence (Christopher Daniels & Kazarian)
– Samoa Joe & Magnus defeated Aces & Eights (Garrett Bischoff & Wes Brisco)
– Team 3D defeated Generation Me
– Austin Aries & Bobby Roode defeated Magnus & Samoa Joe
– Team 3D defeated Hernandez & Chavo Guerrero Jr.
– Team 3D defeated Austin Aries & Bobby Roode

Title Changes

1957 – George & Sandy Scott defeated Jim Austeri & Ali Bey to win the Mid-Atlantic NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Charlotte, North Carolina

1959 – Papa Pasquale defeated Billy Wicks to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama

1960 – Ed Francis defeated Shag Thomas to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title

1963 – Louie Tillet defeated Bull Curry to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1964 – Larry Hennig & The Viking defeated Ken Lucas & Fritz Von Erich to win the Amarillo NWA North American Tag Team Title in Lubbock, Texas

1974 – Lou Thesz defeated Tommy Gilbert to win the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1976 – The Hollywood Blondes (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) defeated Greg Valentine & Gorgeous George Jr to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1981 – Ricky Cortez defeated Dick Garza to win the Michigan Championship Wrestling Michigan Heavyweight Title in Port Huron, Michigan

1984 – Ivan Koloff defeated Angelo Mosca, Jr. to win his third NWA Mid-Atlantic Heavyweight Title in Charlotte, North Carolina

1988 – Chris Benoit defeated Gama Singh to win the Stampede British Commonwealth Mid-Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta

1995 – Greg Valentine defeated John Hawk (JBL) to win the NWA North American Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas

2000 – Brother Love defeated J.D. McKay in a ladder match to become the first NWA Mississippi Junior Heavyweight Champion in Cleveland, Mississippi

2001 – Big Dick Dudley defeated Tommy Cairo & Axl Rotten in a 3-way match to win the United States Extreme Wrestling Heavyweight Title in Deer Park, New York

2001 – Sumie Sakai defeated Megumi Yabushita to win the BS Japan Queen of the Ring & American Wrestling Federation Women’s Titles in Tokyo, Japan

2001 – Emilio Charles Jr defeats Ringo Mendoza to win the CMLL World Middleweight Title

2006 – Bobby Roode defeated Josh Daniels to win the NWA Cyberspace Internet Title in Deer Park, New York

2006 – Low Ki defeated John McChesney to win the International Wrestling Cartel Super Indy Title in Elizabeth, New Jersey

2007 – The Black Family (Dark Cuervo & Dark Ozz) defeated Crazy Boy & Joe Lider, Alan Stone & Zumbido & Pegasso & Super Fly in an Elimination Match to become the 1st AAA Tag Team Champions

2012 – El Mesias defeated Jeff Jarrett to win the AAA World Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to Chikara founder Mike Quackenbush (38), former WWE talent & current TNA star “Ethan Carter III/EC3” Derrick Bateman (31), & 3-time WWF Tag Team Champion Rick Martel (58)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF and ECW wrestler Mike ‘Mad Dog’ Bell (43)