Today In Wrestling History – March 1st


1987 – Bruno Sammartino is inducted into the Italian-American Sports Hall of Fame in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

1999 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.3 to 4.3 in the ratings

2007 – The GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame is opened. Hulk Hogan is the 1st inductee

2008 – Trish Stratus is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 82% of the reader votes

2009 – Harley Race is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 87% of the reader votes

2010 – WWE announced Mad Dog Vachon would be inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame class of 2010

2010 – Ecki “Umaga” Fatu’s cause of death was ruled accidental, caused by “acute toxicity due to combined effects of hydrocodone, carisoprodol, and diazepam.”  Hydrocone (aka Vicodin) is a painkiller.  Carisoprodol (soma) is a muscle relaxer.  Diazepam (Valium) is an anti-anxiety medication

2011 – Kevin Nash is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 73% of the reader votes

2011 – Abdullah the Butcher confirmed he would be going into the WWE Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2011

2011 – Johnny Curtis (Fandango) won WWE NXT Season 4

2012 – Vader is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 88% of the reader votes


In 1976,  The WWWF held an event at Madison Square Garden, in New York City, New York:

– Rocky Tamayo defeated Johnny Rivera
– Dominic DeNucci defeated Baron Mikel Scicluna
– Ric Flair, in his MSG debut, defeated Pete Sanchez
– Louis Cyr defeated Pat Barrett
– Superstar Billy Graham & Ivan Koloff defeated WWWF World Tag Team Champions Louis Cerdan & Tony Parisi in a two-out-of-three falls match
– WWWF World Heavyweight Champion Bruno Sammartino defeated Ernie Ladd to retain the title.
– Susan Green defeated Kitty Adams. Adams replaced World Women’s Champion The Fabulous Moolah, who suffered a broken collarbone the night before in Toronto, Ontario in a match with Green
– WWWF United States Heavyweight Champion Bobo Brazil defeated Jerry Blackwell to retain the title

In 1986, the 1st WWF Slammy Awards Show airs on MTV. All awards referred to the song ‘Land of 1000 Dances’ from The Wrestling Album which had been released earlier that year:

– Roddy Piper wins Best Personality
– Mona Flambe (Cyndi Lauper) wins Best Producer
– Gene Okerlund wins Best Commentator
– Junkyard Dogg wins Best Single Performer
– Nikolai Volkoff wins Most Ignominious (he was the only nominee)
In 1986, The 5th edition of the WWF’s Saturday Night’s Main Event, taped February 15 in Phoenix, Arizona at the Veterans Memorial Coliseum, airs on NBC and earns a 10.0 rating:

– Mr. T defeated Bob Orton, Jr. (with Roddy Piper) by countout in the second round of a boxing match.
– King Kong Bundy (with Bobby Heenan) defeated Steve Gatorwolf
– WWF Champion Hulk Hogan defeated Don Muraco (with Bobby Heenan, subbing for Mr. Fuji, who was sick) via DQ, to retain the title, when Heenan entered the ring to prevent Hogan from pinning Muraco after the legdrop. King Kong Bundy then ran in & attacked Hogan, giving him three Avalanches & two splashes. The British Bulldogs & Pedro Morales made the save
– WWF Tag Team Champions Brutus Beefcake & Greg Valentine (with Johnny V) defeated The British Bulldogs (Davey Boy Smith & The Dynamite Kid (with Captain Lou Albano)) to retain the title
– The Junkyard Dog defeated Adrian Adonis (with Jimmy Hart)

In 1998, the first ECW Living Dangerously was held at the Asbury Park Convention Center, in Asbury Park, New Jersey:

– Jerry Lynn & Chris Chetti defeated The F.B. I. (Little Guido & Tracey Smothers) (with Tommy Rich)
– Masato Tanaka defeated Doug Furnas (with Lance Wright)
– Rob Van Dam (with Bill Alfonso) defeated 2 Cold Scorpio
– New Jack & Spike Dudley defeated The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) (with Joel Gernter & Sign Guy Dudley) & The Hardcore Chair Swingin’ Freaks (Axl Rotten & Balls Mahoney) in a 3-Way Dance
– Tommy Dreamer defeated Justin Credible (with Jason & Nicole Bass)
– Bam Bam Bigelow defeated Taz to win the ECW Television Title. During the match, Bigelow drove Taz through the ring
– Sabu (with Bill Alfonso) defeated The Sandman in a Dueling Canes Match
– Al Snow & Lance Storm (Tammy Lynn Sytch) defeated Shane Douglas & Chris Candido (with Francine)

In 2008, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 4 was held in Tokyo, Japan:

– Silver King defeated Katsuhiko Nakajima to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Keiji Mutoh & Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Toshiaki Kawada & Taiyo Kea
– Dory Funk Jr & Osamu Nishimura defeated Genichiro Tenryu & Masanobu Fuchi
– Kensuke Sasaki defeated Satoshi Kojima to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1937 – Ben Jordan defeated Bill Collins to win the Georgia Southern Light HeavyweightTitle in Atlanta, Georgia

1966 – Duke Keomuka & Fritz Von Erich defeated The Destroyer (Dick Beyer) & The Golden Terror to win the Texas NWA World Tag Team Title in Dallas, Texas

1972 – Goliath & Kinji Shibuya defeated Dory Dixon & Earl Maynard to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title in Los Angeles, California

1977 – Dick Murdoch defeated The Great Zimm to win the TSW North American Title

1981 – Villano III defeated Fishman to win the UWA World Light Heavyweight Title in Naucalpan, Mexico

1982 – Jerry Lawler defeated Dutch Mantel to win the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1992 – Big, Bad & Dangerous (Bam Bam Bigelow & Vader) defeated Hiroshi Hase & Keiji Mutoh to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1992 – Mascarita Sagrada defeated Espectrito in a tournament final to become the 1st CMLL World Mini-Estrella Champion

1993 – Jeff Jarrett defeated Brian Christopher to win the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1993 – Jamie Dundee defeated Danny Davis to become the 1st USWA Middleweight Champion

1993 – Bobby Eaton defeated Tim Horner to win the SMW Television Title

2002 – Scotty Riggs defeated Dustin Rhodes to win the Turnbuckle Championship Wrestling Heavyweight Title in Carrollton, Georgia. On the same show, Glacier & Ron Studd defeated Southside Trash to win the TCW Tag Team Title

2003 – The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) defeat The Shane Twins (Mike & Todd) to win the Independent Pro Wrestling Tag Team Title in Yokohama, Japan

2003 – Kenta Kobashi defeated Mitsuharu Misawa to win the GHC Heavyweight Title

2005 – on Smackdown, Orlando Jordan defeated John Cena to win the WWE United States Title

2006 – Brent Albright defeated CM Punk in a tournament final to win the OVW Heavyweight Title in Louisville, Kentucky. Matt Cappotelli had vacated the title on February 8th

2009 – Jun Akiyama defeated Kensuke Sasaki to win the GHC Heavyweight Title. Also, KENTA defeats Katsuhiko Nakajima to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to one-time ROH World Champion & current TNA superstar Davey Richards (31), one-time WCW Tag Team Champion Scotty Riggs (43), former WWF/E and WCW Triple Crown Champion Booker T (49), current NXT Champion Big E Langston (28), current WWE NXT diva EMMA (25), one-time WWF Tag Team Champion Adnan Al-Kaissie (Billy White Wolf) (75), & 6-time CMLL Tag Team Champion Ultimo Guerrero (42)