Today In Wrestling History- March 21st


2001 – The final WCW Thunder airs on TBS

2004 – Jeff Jarrett defeated Latin Lover to win the AAA Rey de Reyes Tournament. This result was stricken from the AAA records when they & TNA ended their working relationship, though was reinstated when the companies resumed their relationship in 2010

2007 – Yuji Nagata wins the New Japan Cup, defeating Togi Makabe in the tournament final

2011 – WWE officially announced that Abdullah the Butcher would be inducted into their Hall of Fame class of 2011


In 1991, the first WCW/New Japan Supershow (known as ‘Starrcade 1991 in Tokyo Dome’ in Japan) was held in Tokyo, Japan. I believe I’m right in saying that this was the first show of its kind, cross-promoting an American and a Japanese promotion. It didn’t air in America until April:

– Jushin Liger defeated Akira Nogami to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeated Hiroshi Hase & Kensuke Sasaki to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– The Great Muta defeated Sting
– Tatsumi Fujinami defeated Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title. Flair retained the WCW Title, as New Japan considered them separate entities, despite WCW considering them the same championship at the time

In 1997, the WWF Slammy Awards Show was held in Chicago, Illinois:

– Rocky Maivia wins the New Sensation Award
– Sable wins the Best Dressed Award
– Shawn Michaels vs Bret Hart from Wrestlemania XII wins Match of the Year
– The Undertaker wins Best Entrance Music & Best Tatoo
– Shawn Michaels’ Sweet Chin Music wins Best Finisher
– Goldust & Marlena win Best Couple
– Steve Austin wins the Freedom of Speech Award
– The Undertaker wins Superstar of the Year
– Arnold Skaaland wins the Lifetime Achievement Award
– Sable is Miss Slammy

Also in 1997, CMLL Homenaje a Salvador Lutteroth was held in Mexico City. The show featured a one-night, 8-team tournament to crown new Trios Champions after previous champion Hector Garza left the company over a contract dispute:

– Apolo Dantes, Black Warrior & Dr Wagner Jr defeated Foreign Exchange, Miguel Perez Jr & Steel to advance to the final of the tournament
– Emilio Charles Jr, Rey Bucanero & El Satanico defeated Atlantis, Lizmark & Rayo de Jalisco Jr to advance to the final of the tournament
– Emilio Charles Jr, Rey Bucanero & El Satanico defeated Apolo Dantes, Black Warrior & Dr Wagner Jr to win the vacant CMLL Trios Titles
– Silver King defeated La Fiera in a Hair vs Hair Match

In 1999, ECW Living Dangerously was held in Asbury Park, New Jersey

Dark Match:
– Nova & Chris Chetti defeated Danny Doring & Amish Roadkill
– Super Crazy defeated Yoshihiro Tajiri
– Balls Mahoney (with Axl Rotten) defeated Steve Corino
– Little Guido (with Sal E. Graziano) defeated Antifaz Del Norte
– Rob Van Dam (with Bill Alfonso) defeated Jerry Lynn to retain the ECW Television Title
– New Jack defeated Mustafa
– Spike Dudley & Nova defeated The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) (with Joel Gertner & Sign Guy Dudley). Nova was injured during the match & was replaced by Sid Vicious
– Tommy Dreamer & Shane Douglas (with Francine) defeated The Impact Players (Lance Storm & Justin Credible) (with Jazz, Jason Knight, & Dawn Marie)
– Taz defeated Sabu (with Bill Alfonso) to unify the FTW Title & the ECW World Title

In 2003, CMLL Homenaje a Dos Leyendas: El Santo y Salvador Lutteroth was held in Mexico City:

– Bestia Salvaje, Juventud Guerrera & Scorpio Jr defeated El Felino & Los Villanos (III & IV)
– Lizmark Jr, Negro Casas & Vampiro defeated Apolo Dantes & Los Guapos (Mascara Magica & Shocker)
– Black Tiger III, Dr Wagner Jr & Universo 2000 defeated Atlantis, Black Warrior & Mr Niebla to win the CMLL Trios Titles
– Pierroth defeated Gran Markus Jr in a Hair vs Hair Match

In 2008, CMLL Homenaje a Dos Leyendas was held in Mexico City and paid tribute to Salvador Lutteroth & Black Shadow:

– Los Guerreros del Infierno (Olimpico, Rey Bucanero & Sangre Azteca) defeated Grey Shadow, La Sombra & El Sagrado
– Los Perros del Mal (Mr Aguila, El Terrible & Villano V) defeated Blue Panther, Negro Casas & Volador Jr
– Mistico, Atlantis & Ultimo Guerrero defeated Averno, Mephisto & LA Park
– Perro Aguayo Jr defeated Hector Garza in a Hair vs Hair Match

In 2010, TNA Destination X was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida:

– Kazarian defeated Daniels, Amazing Red & Brian Kendrick in a 4-Way Ladder Match
– Tara defeated Daffney to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Rob Terry defeated Magnus to retain the TNA Global Title
– The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley) defeated Generation Me (Max & Jeremy Buck)
– The Band (Scott Hall & Syxx-Pac) defeated Eric Young & Kevin Nash to win TNA contracts
– Doug Williams defeated Shannon Moore to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Matt Morgan & Hernandez defeated Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Kurt Angle defeated Mr. Anderson
– AJ Styles (with Ric Flair) fought Abyss to a no contest when Styles was chokeslammed through the ring. Styles retains the TNA World Title

Also in 2010, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 9 was held:

– Kiyoshi & Bushi defeated Chessman & Dark Ozz
– Taru, Big Daddy Voodoo & Minoru defeated Osamu Nishimura, Akebono & Shuji Kondo
– Masakatsu Funaki defeated Minoru Suzuki by KO in a Cage Match
– Kaz Hayashi defeated KAI to retain the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Ryota Hama defeated Satoshi Kojima to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

In 2011, AJPW Pro Wrestling Love in Ryogoku Vol. 11 was held in Tokyo, Japan:

– Big Van Vader, Jesse White & Ryota Hama defeated Taru, Rene Dupree & Mazada
– Daisuke Sekimoto & Yuji Okabayashi defeated Seiya Sanada & Manabu Soya to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles
– Yuji Nagata & Jushin Liger defeated Minoru Suzuki & Masakatsu Funaki
– Minoru defeated Shuji Kondo by TKO to retain the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Joe Doering & KONO defeated Taiyo Kea & Takao Omori to retain the AJPW Tag Team Titles
– Suwama defeated KENSO to retain the AJPW Triple Crown Title

Title Changes

1972 – Billy Red Cloud defeated Art Thomas to win the WWA World Heavyweight Title

1972 – The Continental Warriors (Bobby Hart & Lorenzo Parente) defeated Tom Jones & Billy Red Lyons to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1981 – Tommy Gilbert defeated Medico II to win the WWC Caribbean Heavyweight Title in Bayamón, Puerto Rico

1984 – Harley Race defeated Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

1990 – Lizmark defeated Fabuloso Blondie for the NWA World Light Heavyweight Title in Acapulco, Mexico

1991 – Mascara Sagrada defeated Pierroth, Jr. to win the Mexican National Light Heavyweight Title in Cuernavaca, Mexico

1993 – Xóchitl Hamada defeated Bull Nakano to win the CMLL World Women’s Title in Mexico City, Mexico

2000 – American Dragon (Bryan Danielson) & Spanky (Brian Kendrick) defeated The Board of Education (Ruben Cruz & Jeromy Sage) to win the Texas Wrestling Alliance Tag Team Title in San Antonio, Texas

2011 – Extreme Tiger & Jack Evans defeated Los Maniacos (Silver King & Ultimo Gladiator) to win the AAA Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 3-time AWA Light Heavyweight Champion Buck Zumhofe (63), Kevin Federline (36)

& Happy Birthday to MYSELF (36)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former ECW and WWF Tag Team Champion Chris Candido (42), CMLL founder Salvador Lutteroth (117), & 7-time JWA All-Asia Tag Team Champion Toyonobori (83)