Today In Wrestling History- March 31st


1977 – Seiji Sakaguchi wins the NJPW World League, defeating Masked Superstar in the final

2008 – WWE gives Ric Flair a “farewell” on Raw the night after Wrestlemania, including a reunion with the Four Horsemen (Tully Blanchard, JJ Dillon, Arn Anderson, & Barry Windham).  It would be their only televised reunion until 2012, when they go into the WWE Hall of Fame


In 1985, the 1st ever WWF WrestleMania was held at Madison Square Garden, in New York City:

– Tito Santana defeated The Executioner in the 1st ever Wrestlemania match
– King Kong Bundy (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Special Delivery Jones
– Ricky Steamboat defeated Matt Borne
– David Sammartino (with Bruno Sammartino) fought Brutus Beefcake (with Johnny Valiant) to a double DQ
– Junkyard Dogg defeated Greg Valentine (with Jimmy Hart) via countout (Valentine retains the WWF Intercontinental Title)
– Nikolai Volkoff & The Iron Sheik (with Freddie Blassie) defeated The US Express (Mike Rotundo & Barry Windham) (with Lou Albano) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Andre The Giant defeated Big John Studd (with Bobby Heenan) in a $15,000 Body Slam Challenge
– Wendi Richter (with Cyndi Lauper) defeated Leilani Kai (with The Fabulous Moolah) to win the WWF Women’s Title
– Hulk Hogan & Mr T (with Jimmy Snuka) defeated Roddy Piper & Paul Orndorff (with “Cowboy” Bob Orton (with Muhammad Ali & Pat Patterson as special guest referees)

In 1996, WWF WrestleMania XII was held at the Arrowhead Pond, in Anaheim, California:

Free For All:
– The Bodydonnas (Skip & Zip) (with Sunny) defeated The Godwinns (Henry & Phineas) (with Hillbilly Jim) in the final of a tournament to win the vacant WWF Tag Team Titles
– Camp Cornette (Vader, Owen Hart, & The British Bulldog) (with Jim Cornette) defeated Ahmed Johnson, Yokozuna, & Jake “The Snake” Robert (with Mr. Fuji)
– The Ringmaster (Stone Cold Steve Austin) (with Ted Dibiase) defeated Savio Vega
– The Ultimate Warrior defeated Hunter Hearst Helmsley (with Sable)
– The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) defeated Diesel
– Roddy Piper defeated Goldust (with Marlena) in a Hollywood Backlot Brawl
– Shawn Michaels (with Jose Lothario) defeated Bret Hart in an Iron Man Match to win the WWF Title (the match went to overtime with no man scoring a pinfall in the hour allowed)

In 2007, the WWE Hall Of Fame Ceremony was held at the Fox Theater, in Detroit, Michigan. This was my 1st WWE Hall of Fame ceremony live in person. It was an amazing experience. The Class of 2007 were:

– Dusty Rhodes (inducted by his sons Dustin & Cody Rhodes)
– ‘Mr Perfect’ Curt Hennig (inducted by Wade Boggs)
– Jerry Lawler (inducted by William Shatner)
– Afa & Sika, The Wild Samoans (inducted by Samu & Matt “Rosey” Anoa’i)
– Nick Bockwinkel (inducted by Bobby Heenan)
– Mr Fuji (inducted by Don Muraco)
– The Sheik (inducted by his nephew Sabu, & RVD)
– Jim Ross (inducted by Steve Austin)

In 2012, ROH Showdown in the Sun was held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. This was the 2nd day of the two-day event, & had a lunchtime start to avoid clashing with WWE’s Hall of Fame ceremony:

– Jimmy Jacobs defeated El Generico
– TJ Perkins defeated Fire Ant
– Kyle O’Reilly defeated Adam Cole
– The Young Bucks (Nick & Matt Jackson) defeated The All Night Express (Rhett Titus & Kenny King) in a Street Fight
– The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay) defeated Wrestling’s Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin) to retain the ROH Tag Team Titles
– Kevin Steen defeated Eddie Edwards
– Roderick Strong (with Truth Martini) defeated Jay Lethal to win the ROH Television Title
– Davey Richards defeated Michael Elgin to retain the ROH World Title

Also in 2012, the WWE Hall of Fame Ceremony was held at the US Airways Arena, in Miami, Florida. Ric Flair became the 1st person to be inducted twice. The class of 2012 were:

– Edge (inducted by Christian)
– Mil Mascaras (inducted by his nephew Alberto Del Rio)
– Mike Tyson (inducted by Triple H & Shawn Michaels)
– Ron Simmons (inducted by JBL)
– Yokozuna (inducted by Jimmy & Jey Uso)
– The Four Horsemen (Ric Flair, Barry Windham, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard & JJ Dillon) (inducted by Dusty Rhodes)

Also in 2012, WrestleReunion held it’s “Tribute To CWF Show” at the Deauville Beach Resort, in Miami, Florida:

– Kevin Sullivan & Rick Steiner defeated B.G. James & Billy Gunn
– Fit Finlay defeated Harry Smith
– James Manning defeated Matt Classic (Colt Cabana under a mask)
– Wildman Wolf defeated Willy Clay Jr.
– Vader defeated Steve Stasiak & Rick Fury in a Handicap Match
– Amber O’Neal defeated Leilani Kai
– Tito Santana defeated The Honky Tonk Man
– Mike Graham, Lanny Poffo, Carlos Colon, & B. Brian Blair defeated Gary Royal, Larry Zbyszko, Ron Bass, & The Masked Superstar

In 2013, WWE taped “Saturday Morning Slam” “Main Event,” at the Verizon Center, in Washington D.C.:

Slam Match:
– Kofi Kingston defeated Justin Gabriel
Main Event Match:
The Miz defeated The Primetime Players (Titus O’Neil & Darren Young) in a Handicap Tag Match

Title Changes

1973 – At a WWWF event at the Boston Garden, Moondog Mayne won a battle royale for a title match when the bout came down to himself & Fred Blassie.  The 2 refused to fight each other, so a coin toss was held with Moondog winning. Moondog would go on to challenge, & lose, to WWWF World Champion Pedro Morales

1978 – Tim Brooks & Leroy Brown defeated Jose Lothario & Al Madril to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1989 – Sting defeated Mike Rotunda to win the NWA Television Title

1994 – The Quebecers defeated Men on a Mission to win the WWF Tag Team Titles in Sheffield, England

2000 – The Artist (Prince Iaukea) defeated Billy Kidman to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2003 – on Raw, Kane & Rob Van Dam defeated Chief Morley & Lance Storm & The Dudley Boyz in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the World Tag Team Titles

2004 – Kazarian defeated Amazing Red to win the vacant TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to female indy star Allison Danger (37), & one-time NWA World Champion Naoya Ogawa (46)