Who Holds the Title Now? Updated List of WWE Champions

Professional wrestling is one of the most sought-after sources of sports entertainment over the years. In fact, it has now reached an impressive number of approximately 11 million fans watching in America alone. Its growing popularity among wrestling enthusiasts made it an exciting candidate for sports betting, according to Fanduel.

Watching the game is even more fun when you have placed your bets on the competition. The next major question is, who is the superstar you’re going to back up? In case you’ve missed an episode of your favorite fight night, this article has listed down the current champions across each brand division. 

Smackdown Brand Champions

Universal Champion: Roman Reigns

Following his return at SummerSlam after a 5-month hiatus, Roman Reigns defeated the newly crowned Universal Champion “The Fiend” Bray Wyatt and Braun Strowman in a Triple Threat Match Payback 2020. Reigns has won the WWE Universal Championship twice.

He is set to play for the title match at WrestleMania 37 and will be up against Daniel Bryan and Adam Copeland, also known as “Edge.”

Intercontinental Champion: Big E

Big E was a former tag team member of The New Day alongside Kofi Kingston and Xavier Woods. They became the longest-reigning, multi-time tag team champions in WWE, but during the 2020 WWE Draft, Kingston and Woods got drafted to the red brand. 

Pursuing his singles career, Big E has proved to his wrestling fans that he can still dominate. During the 2020 Christmas edition of SmackDown, Big E won against Sami Zayn in a Lumberjack Match.

SmackDown Tag Team Champions: Dolph Ziggler and Robert Roode

Dolph Ziggler and Robert Roode defeated the Street Profits during the SmackDown episode aired last January 8, 2021. This earned them their first titles together on WWE SmackDown as Tag Team Champions. Ziggler and Roode have been working as a team since 2019.

SmackDown Women’s Champion: Sasha Banks

Sasha Banks brought home the title after defeating her former “best friend” Bayley in the 2020 Hell in a Cell Match. Banks and Bayley had formerly teamed, becoming the first WWE Women’s Tag Team Champions and bagging the title the second time. Despite Bayley turning on Banks, the former still proved that she is “The Boss of the Cell.”

Raw Brand Champions

WWE Champion: Bobby Lashley

Using his unbreakable Hurt Lock move, Bobby Lashley defeated The Miz during the Raaw episode of March 1, 2021, in a Lumberjack Match. This earned him his first WWE championship. Talking about credentials, Lashley sure won’t disappoint. 

Before his WWE career, he was an Armed Forces champion twice, a three-time wrestling national champion, a four-time wrestling All-American champion, and a silver medalist in the 2002 CISM World Championships.

United States Champion: Riddle

This former NXT Tag Team champion won the WWE United States Championship, his first title since his debut on RAW, after defeating Bobby Lashley and John Morrison in a Triple Threat Match during the WWE Elimination Chamber 2021.

In the latest Raw episode aired last March 15, 2021, Riddle defended his United States Champion title when he won against Mustafa Ali, the RETRIBUTION leader.

Raw Tag Team Champion: The New Day (Kofi Kingston and Xavier Woods)

Following their defeat against The Hurt Business pair Cedric Alexander and Shelton Benjamin at TLC: Tables, Ladders, and Chairs 2020, the duo challenged them once more on the March 15, 2021, episode. This time, they successfully defeated them, becoming the brand’s Tag Team Champs.

Raw Women’s Champion: Asuka

The long bitter rivalry between Asuka “The Empress of Tomorrow” and Sasha Banks ended with the former being successful with her quest for payback. Asuka regained her WWE Raw Women’s Championship title at Summerslam 2020, (figuratively) slapping Banks’ face with a sign that reads, “you once again failed to defend the title.” Asuka is now in her second reign. 

NXT Brand Champions

NXT Champion: Finn Bálor

Due to a shoulder injury, the previous NXT champion, Karrion Kross, had to give up his title. The NXT title was soon made vacant. Finn Bálor and Adam Cole took on the challenge, following NXT’s announcement on a Fatal Four-way Match to determine the new champion. 

Ending the match with two pins each, Bálor defeated Cole in a sudden death match and grabbed the championship title.

NXT North American Champion: Johnny Gargano

Gargano’s win against Leon Ruff and Damian Priest during the NXT TakeOver: WarGames 2020 earned him the reputation of becoming the first-ever NXT North American Champion holding the title three times. 

William Regal, general manager of NXT, recently announced a 12-man battle royale, the champion of which will determine who will face Gargano for the NXT North American Championship at TakeOver: Stand and Deliver.  

NXT Cruiserweight Champion: Jordan Devlin/Santos Escobar

Jordan Devlin currently holds the NXT Cruiserweight Championship title. Due to the pandemic, he could not travel back to the U.S. NXT then announced an interim championship tournament, crowning Santos Escobar the interim champion after defeating Drake Maverick. 

During the March 24, 2021 episode, Shawn Michael, the Ladder Match pioneer, introduced a daring idea for Devlin’s TakeOver: Stand and Deliver clash with Escobar. 

NXT Women’s Champion: Io Shirai

Io Shirai took the Women’s Champion title during the NXT TakeOver Match: In Your House 2020. However, she suffered a lower back injury in her latest tag team match, two weeks before her TakeOver clash against Raquel González. As of now, she is listed as medically clear. 

NXT Women’s Tag Team Champion: Shotzi Blackheart & Ember Moon

Shotzi Blackheart and Ember Moon challenged the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic winners Dakota Kai and Raquel González. They seized the title from them on the same matchday.

In Summary

These are the current list of champions in each brand division of WWE. Knowing this list could give you an idea of whom to watch out for if you are planning to bet on one of them the next game night.